Diagnosis

Autism can be a very difficult condition to diagnose simply because it does not rely on blood tests or the like. However, there can be a number of developmental tests can be recommended and extensive observations that can assist medical specialists in properly diagnosing the condition. The diagnostic practices for Autism include observations on the child’s behaviour and development to make that diagnosis.


Universally, diagnosing an autistic person can be done in two steps:


Developmental Screening:

a short test to tell if children are learning basic skills when they should, or if they might have delays. During developmental screening the doctor might ask the parent some questions or talk and play with the child during an exam to see how she learns, speaks, behaves, and moves. A delay in any of these areas could be a sign of a problem.


Comprehensive Diagnostic Evaluation:

A thorough review that may include looking at the child’s behaviour and development and interviewing the parents. It may also include a hearing and vision screening, genetic testing, neurological testing, and other medical testing.


In some cases, the primary care doctor might choose to refer the child and family to a specialist for further assessment and diagnosis. Specialists who can do this type of evaluation include:


  • Lack of desire to interact with other people
  • Display of erratic behaviour that can seem hostile towards others
  • Most commonly avoidance of eye contact when spoken to
  • Display repetitive patterns of behaviour


The quality of life for many children and adults is significantly improved by a diagnosis that leads to appropriate evidence-informed intervention or support that recognises individual strengths and interests.

Know More About:

Communication

Because of its isolating and withdrawing nature, autistic individuals tend to have a challenge and difficulty in communicating with their surrounding community, especially that autism itself can hinder a person’s ability to focus on conversations for a long period of time.

التشخيص

يمكنه أن يكون من الصعب تشخيص إضطراب التوحّد وذلك لأنه بكل بساطة لا يعتمد على فحوصات الدم أو ما يشابهه. ولكن يمكن أن يتوافر عدد من الفحوصات النمائية التي يمكن أن يوصى بها بالإضافة إلى الملاحظات الطبية مطولة من شأنها مساعدة أطباء متخصصين على القيام بالتشخيصات اللازمة لهذه الحالات. وتتضمن الممارسات التشخيصية هذه مراقبة سلوك الطفل ونموه من اجل القيام بهذا التشخيص.


بشكل عام، يمكن القيام بتشخيص حالة المصاب بالتوحّد عن طريق خطوتين كما يلي:


الفحص النمائي:

هو عبارة عن فحص مختصر يدل على إذا ما كان يتعلم الأطفال المهارات الأساسية عن اللزوم أو إذا كانوا قد يبدون البطء باتمام ذلك. قد يطرح الطبيب عدة أسئلة على ذوي المصاب أو يقوم بمحادثة المصاب وملاعبته أثناء الفحص لمراقبة كيفية تعلمّه وتكلمه وتصرفه وتحركه. وقد يكون أي تأخر بأي من هذه العناصر تلك مؤشر لمشكلة ما.


التقييم التشخيصي الكامل:

هو مراجعة شاملة قد تشمل النظر إلى سلوك الطفل ونموه وإجراء مقابلة مع أولياء الأمور. قد يشمل أيضًا فحص السمع والرؤية ، والفحص الجيني ، والفحص العصبي ، والاختبارات الطبية الأخرى.


وفي بعض الحالات، يمكن أن يختار طبيب الرعاية الأساسي إحالة الطفل المصاب وعائلته إلى اخصائي بهدف التشخيص والتقدير الإضافيين. ويتضمن الأخصائيين القادرين على القيام بهذا النوع من التقييم الآتي:


  • طبيب نمو أطفال
  • طبيب مخ وأعصاب (تخصص أطفال)
  • طبيب نفسي
  • أخصائي نفسي
  • وقد يضم الفريق: أخصائي تربية خاصة، أخصائي نطق وتخاطب، وأخصائي علاج وظيفي


تتحسن جودة الحياة لدى الكثير من الأطفال بشكل كبيرمن خلال تشخيص يؤدي إلى تدخل أو مساندة مدعومة بالدلائل والتي من شأنها أن تدرك نقاط القوى الفردية والإهتمامات.

معرفة المزيد عن:

التفاعل

بسبب طبيعته المنعزلة والانسحاب ، يميل الأفراد التوحديون إلى مواجهة صعوبة وصعوبة في التواصل مع المجتمع المحيط بهم ، خاصة أن التوحد نفسه يمكن أن يعيق قدرة الشخص على التركيز على المحادثات لفترة طويلة من الزمن.